Author Archive for Libby Robinson

Gassville Awarded $848,000.00 from ANRC

Gassville Awarded $848,000.00 from ARNCThe City of Gassville has received $848,000.00 in Community Development Block Grant funds from the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission (ANRC) to construct a new sewer extension that will provide service to 64 residents within the city who are experiencing septic system failures.  Pictured above at the April 6 check presentation at the State Capitol are (from left) Joe Willis, Executive Director and Jeremy Ragland, Deputy Director, NWAEDD, State Representative Jack Fortner, Governor Asa Hutchinson, Mayor Jeff Braim, and ANRC Executive Director Bruce Holland.  


Gentry received a Grant for $15,000.00 from the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program

Gentry Receives Rural Community Grant for $15,000.00

Gentry Receives Rural Community Grant for $15,000.00

Pictured from Left to Right: NWAEDD Tina Cole, ARDC Commissioner James Myatt, Mayor Kevin Johnston, Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC VP of Operations Amy Fecher, ARDC Commissioner Jamie Pafford-Gresham, Rural Services Director Alex Johnston.



Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC Vice President of Operations Amy Fecher and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $261,512.35 to 27 rural communities on Thursday, October 13, 2016.  The communities were selected for Fiscal Year 2017 Cycle I funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program.


In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Community Development grant on behalf of Gentry in Benton County.  Gentry received a  grant  for $15,000.00 to install a walking trail within the Flint Creek Nature Center Trailhead.


Cotter Receives $15,000.00 from ADRS Rural Community Grant Program

Cotter Receives $15,000.00The City of Cotter received a Rural Community Grant from the Arkansas Department of Rural Services to assist in the demolition of its Spring House. This particular grant requires a 50/50 match and the city received the maximum award of $15,000.00. The Spring House is a community building that was in such disrepair that it was no longer able to be utilized. Demolition proved to be more economically feasible than renovation with the problems facing the structure. The long term goal is to rebuild a new community center at that site. NWAEDD hopes to be involved in that project in the future!


EDA Invests $1.4 Million in Northwest Arkansas

AsaOn Friday, August 12, 2016 Governor Asa Hutchinson and Congressman Steve Womack were on hand as EDA Austin Regional Director, Jorge Ayala, announced approximately $1.4 million in EDA investments in Northwest Arkansas. The recipients of the EDA investments were Benton County, the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce, and the Arkansas World Trade Center. NWAEDD was proud to work with all three entities through the application process and congratulates them on their success! continue reading…