NWAEDD AmericaCorps VISTA Volunteer Recognized by EDA

Kristi Cates is an AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteer placed at NWAEDD through a partnership with the EDA VISTA Program. Kristi is helping NWAEDD prepare hazard mitigation plans for Boone, Madison, Newton, and Searcy Counties. EDA highlighted the work that she is doing in its March VISTA Newsletter. All of us at NWAEDD are proud to have Kristi as part of our team! For more information  check out our Facebook page or follow this link to the full story on EDA’s website. EDA Article

We would like to introduce you to Kristi Cates, our AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteer through the EDA VISTA Program. Kristi is…

Posted by Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc. on Friday, March 30, 2018

Gassville Awarded $848,000.00 from ANRC

Gassville Awarded $848,000.00 from ARNCThe City of Gassville has received $848,000.00 in Community Development Block Grant funds from the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission (ANRC) to construct a new sewer extension that will provide service to 64 residents within the city who are experiencing septic system failures.  Pictured above at the April 6 check presentation at the State Capitol are (from left) Joe Willis, Executive Director and Jeremy Ragland, Deputy Director, NWAEDD, State Representative Jack Fortner, Governor Asa Hutchinson, Mayor Jeff Braim, and ANRC Executive Director Bruce Holland.  


Gentry received a Grant for $15,000.00 from the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program

Gentry Receives Rural Community Grant for $15,000.00

Gentry Receives Rural Community Grant for $15,000.00

Pictured from Left to Right: NWAEDD Tina Cole, ARDC Commissioner James Myatt, Mayor Kevin Johnston, Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC VP of Operations Amy Fecher, ARDC Commissioner Jamie Pafford-Gresham, Rural Services Director Alex Johnston.



Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC Vice President of Operations Amy Fecher and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $261,512.35 to 27 rural communities on Thursday, October 13, 2016.  The communities were selected for Fiscal Year 2017 Cycle I funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program.


In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Community Development grant on behalf of Gentry in Benton County.  Gentry received a  grant  for $15,000.00 to install a walking trail within the Flint Creek Nature Center Trailhead.


Cotter Receives $15,000.00 from ADRS Rural Community Grant Program

Cotter Receives $15,000.00The City of Cotter received a Rural Community Grant from the Arkansas Department of Rural Services to assist in the demolition of its Spring House. This particular grant requires a 50/50 match and the city received the maximum award of $15,000.00. The Spring House is a community building that was in such disrepair that it was no longer able to be utilized. Demolition proved to be more economically feasible than renovation with the problems facing the structure. The long term goal is to rebuild a new community center at that site. NWAEDD hopes to be involved in that project in the future!


Benton County Awarded $185,000.00 from AEDC

Benton County CDBGGovernor Asa Hutchinson presented Benton County with a $185,000.00 General Assistance Grant from the Arkansas Economic Development Commission on Wednesday, July 27th. This grant, which utilizes Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds, will benefit low & moderate income (LMI) households by replacing outdated septic systems with modern environmentally friendly septic systems. Outdated septic systems pose a risk to soil, ground water, lakes, streams, and the environment in general and replacing these systems is a high priority across the State. Although all of Benton County will benefit from the positive impact to the environment, it is expected that approximately 20 LMI income households will be able to take advantage of this opportunity to have a new septic system installed.

Growing a Healthy Searcy County Receives $47,000.00 Grant from the Walmart Foundation

Growing A Healthy Searcy CountyMarshall, Arkansas, August 22, 2016 – “Growing a Healthy Searcy County”, through a coordinated effort with the Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District (NWAEDD), received a $47,000.00 grant from the Walmart Foundation that will focus on the group’s summer food program and emergency preparedness at the county level. Some initiatives that this grant will provide funding for include; supplemental food for children participating in the summer lunch program, a commercial three compartment sink and standby generator for the Searcy County Civic Center, six fully automated external defibrillators as well as 1,000 emergency shelter kits. continue reading…

EDA Invests $1.4 Million in Northwest Arkansas

AsaOn Friday, August 12, 2016 Governor Asa Hutchinson and Congressman Steve Womack were on hand as EDA Austin Regional Director, Jorge Ayala, announced approximately $1.4 million in EDA investments in Northwest Arkansas. The recipients of the EDA investments were Benton County, the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce, and the Arkansas World Trade Center. NWAEDD was proud to work with all three entities through the application process and congratulates them on their success! continue reading…

City of Marshall receives Arkansas Department of Rural Services Fire Protection Grant

Marshall ADRS Grant

The City of Marshall received a $27,950.00 grant from the Arkansas Department of Rural Services (ADRS) to purchase a pumper truck for its fire department.  This investment by ADRS will allow the fire department to replace a truck that can no longer pass a pump test and as a result can no longer effectively be used to fight fire. The city will have 18 months to utilize the funds.

Marshall Mayor Kevin Elliot & Fire Chief Ronald Ragland worked closely with the staff from the Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District (NWAEDD) to obtain the required information and NWAEDD completed & submitted the application on behalf of the city. State Senator Missy Irvin and State Representative David Branscum both provided letters of support for the project.

NWAEDD to Host Parks & Tourism Grant Workshop

The Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District and the Arkansas Department of Parks & Tourism will co-sponsor a grants workshop on Tuesday, April 19, 2016 from 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. in the conference room at the NWAEDD office building in Harrison. The workshop will focus on the Arkansas Department of Parks & Tourism Outdoor Recreation Grants Program. This program consists of three different grant categories – Matching Grants, FUN Grants, and Trails for Life Grants. A brief description of each grant is shown below. For additional information please visit www.outdoorgrants.com. continue reading…

ADEQ Environmental Awards Open for Nominations

The deadline to submit nominations to the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) for two environmental awards is approaching. ADEQ will accept nominations through March 7, 2016 for its annual Environmental Stewardship Award, or ENVY award, and a new award called the Arkansas Environmental Technology Award. continue reading…